, ,

The Empty House and Other Ghost Stories (Annotated)


The Empty House and Other Ghost Stories (Annotated)

It is the annotated version of this eBook. We had annotated it by adding 40% to 60% Long and Comprehensive Summary in the end of this book in Red Font. Here is the Brief Description of the eBook.

The Empty House and Other Ghost Stories is a collection of supernatural tales written by Algernon Blackwood, a renowned British author of horror and ghost stories. This collection, first published in 1906, showcases Blackwood’s exceptional storytelling skills and his ability to create an eerie atmosphere that captivates readers.

The book consists of ten stories, each exploring different themes and settings, but all sharing a common thread of the supernatural. In this summary, we will provide an overview of the collection, highlighting the key elements of each story.

1. “The Empty House”:
The collection begins with this chilling tale of a haunted house. Two men, Tillinghast and Reuben, decide to spend the night in a house notorious for its ghostly activities. As the night unfolds, they encounter inexplicable phenomena and confront the terrifying presence that dwells within the empty house.

2. “A Haunted Island”:
In this story, Blackwood takes us to a remote island where a group of friends embarks on a sailing trip. As they explore the island, they stumble upon an ancient burial ground and unwittingly awaken the spirits of the past. The island becomes a battleground between the living and the dead, testing the characters’ courage and resilience.

3. “A Case of Eavesdropping”:
Blackwood delves into the supernatural power of sound in this eerie tale. The protagonist, Frank, discovers that he can hear conversations from a neighboring apartment. However, these conversations are not of the living but of the dead, revealing unsettling secrets and hidden truths.

4. “Keeping His Promise”:
This story follows a man named John Silence, a recurring character in Blackwood’s works who possesses psychic abilities. Silence is approached by a young woman seeking help in uncovering the truth behind her brother’s mysterious disappearance. As Silence delves into the case, he encounters malevolent forces and must use his unique powers to save the day.

5. “With Intent to Steal”:
Blackwood explores the theme of possession in this tale. The protagonist, George, acquires an antique mirror that possesses a sinister power. As the mirror exerts its influence over George, he becomes consumed by greed and is driven to commit a heinous act.

6. “The Wood of the Dead”:
Set in the French countryside, this story follows two friends, Austin and Pender, as they stumble upon an ancient forest with a dark secret. The forest is inhabited by malevolent spirits seeking revenge on the living. Austin and Pender must confront their deepest fears and find a way to escape the clutches of the wood of the dead.

7. “Smith: An Episode in a Lodging-House”:
Blackwood explores the theme of reincarnation in this haunting tale. The protagonist, Smith, finds himself inexplicably drawn to a particular lodging house. As he delves deeper into the mysteries of the house, he uncovers a past life that intertwines with his present existence, leading to a shocking revelation.

8. “A Suspicious Gift”:
In this story, Blackwood presents a cautionary tale about the dangers of accepting gifts from strangers. The protagonist, Mr. Lismore, receives a mysterious gift that seems harmless at first. However, as he becomes more attached to the gift, he discovers its true nature and the sinister consequences it brings.

9. “Skeleton Lake: An Episode in Camp”:
Blackwood takes us to the Canadian wilderness in this chilling tale. A group of friends embarks on a hunting trip near Skeleton Lake, a place rumored to be haunted. As they set up camp, they encounter strange occurrences, leading to a terrifying confrontation with the supernatural.

10. “The Tryst”:
The collection concludes with this atmospheric story set in the Scottish Highlands. A man named David finds himself irresistibly drawn to a mysterious woman he encounters in the wilderness. Their fateful meeting leads to a haunting and tragic love story that transcends the boundaries of life and death.

In conclusion, The Empty House and Other Ghost Stories is a captivating collection of supernatural tales that showcases Algernon Blackwood’s mastery of the horror genre. Through his vivid descriptions, atmospheric settings, and compelling characters, Blackwood invites readers into a world where the line between the living and the dead is blurred, leaving them with a sense of unease and fascination long after the last page is turned.

Note: – We are giving this annotated version of the book at Extremely high discount as a promotional activity.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Empty House and Other Ghost Stories (Annotated)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top